The actor is reportedly taking a break from ‘The X-Files’ to release a sophomore, rock-driven album

January 6, 2018

The X-Files star David Duchovny apparently takes his love of music seriously: just a few years ago, the actor hadn never even touched a guitar and hardly ever sung in public, and now he has announced the release of his sophomore album, Every Third Thought! Except this time he abandoned the folky tunes and switched to a more rock-oriented sound.

In the statement regarding the upcoming album, Duchovny describes the new material as moving into a rock direction. “I feel like this album presents a real growth lyrically and musically from the first and I can’t wait to get it out there,” Duchovny says in the statement.

Duchovny told Rolling Stone in May 2015 that his motivation to pick up the guitar a few years ago was simply to learn something fun and pluck along to rock classics. “The Beatles, Lou Reed, the Band, Petty — classic white-guy rock,” Duchovny cites as his inspiration. After the actor had split from his wife Tea Leoni, a whole new window of free time opened for him and he found a new passion: “I thought: ‘Maybe I can learn to play guitar to amuse myself'”.

Duchovny’s second record, the follow-up to 2015’s album Hell or Highwater, consists of 12 songs and is due for release February 9 via King Baby/GMG. The new album will first arrive digitally and will soon be followed by the CD and vinyl versions. Check out the tracklist of Every Third Thought below.

The release of Every Third Thought will be followed by a tour in New Zealand and Australia. The U.S. dates will be announced a bit later.

Does it mean Duchovny has neglected his acting career? Well, if only for a short while. The actor is currently busy with the 11th season of The X-Files, which premiered this past Wednesday on Fox.


Remind yourself of what “Fox Mulder’s” previous songs sounded like with track ‘Hell or Highwater’:

Do you like what we’re doing? If so, help us grow by sharing the article – this way we can keep providing you latest news and fun interviews with your favorite bands! Stay tuned with AlteRock Facebook and Twitter to never miss on the news about your favorite alternative music!

Every Third Thought Tracklist:

1. Half Life
2. Every Third Thought
3. Maybe I Can’t
4. Stranger in the Sacred Heart
5. Mo’
6. Someone Else’s Girl
7. When the Whistle Blows
8. Spiral
9. Roman Coin
10. Jericho
11. Last First Time
12. Marble Sun

Read more Alterock news:

Ghost Dance Macabre Marilyn Manson launches sex toy Disturbed David Draiman removes piercing Muse Pressure The 1975 Matt Healy No Rome Narcissist Nickelback band Slipknot Corey Taylor PANIC! AT THE DISCO Today Citi Concert

Check out our hand-picked latest alt-rock releases:

Follow us on Facebook: