PARAMORE Release ’80s-Style Song/Music Video ‘Hard Times’ + Announce New Album


‘Hard Times’ is a throwback to pop videos of the ’80s with bright visuals and hand-drawn graphics

April 19, 2017

The fresh track from Paramore, along with the entertaining 1980s-inspired music video, won’t leave you indifferent. It’s the group’s first single from their highly awaited fifth album, After Laughter – the first new record in more than four years!

Despite the song title, ‘Hard Times’ is an easy, light-hearted track, as well as its music video, which takes you back to the plain, colorful pop-rock era of the eighties. The choice of colors and the hand-drawn, cartoonlike graphics on top of the visuals will give you a certain image what the MTV clips of the eighties looked like. Watch ‘Hard Times’ below.

After Laughter follows Paramore’s self-titled 2013 album (see the tracklist below). And once again the album was produced by Justin Meldal-Johnsen, who worked on their 2013’s record, plus the band’s guitarist, Taylor York. The LP was recorded at Nashville’s historic RCA Studio B, and it’s the first time Paramore have ever recorded an album in their hometown.

But that’s not the only notable thing about After Laughter. It also marks the return of original band’s drummer Zac Farro. The drummer confirmed he was back last summer, and this past February Paramore released a T-shirt titled “I’m Back” with the picture of a young Farro on the front. Farro had been the drummer on the band’s first three albums (All We Know Is Falling, Riot! and Brand New Eyes).

Watch: GREEN DAY have no mercy on Trump in ‘Troubled Times’ video

The new album, After Laughter, will hit the stores May 12 (via Fueled By Ramen). The record is now available for pre-orders, with an instant free download of ‘Hard Times’. Curiously, Paramore’s album is scheduled for release on the same day as Harry Styles’.

What do you think of the coincidence and the new track/video ‘Hard Times’ below? Share your thoughts in the comments, and join AlteRock Facebook and Twitter to stay tuned for rock and metal news.

More: PARAMORE comment on Jeremy Davis’s departure from the band

After Laughter Tracklisting:

“Hard Times”
“Rose-Colored Boy”
“Told You So”
“Fake Happy”
“Caught in the Middle”
“Idle Worship”
“No Friend”
“Tell Me How”