SUM 41 Share ‘Fake My Own Death’ Video ft. Figures of Donald Trump, Brad Pitt + More


Media gain control over human lives in Sum 41’s new chaotic music video for ‘Fake My Own Death’

June 29, 2016

Pop punk idols Sum 41 are back and they are full of power as if they had never left. The band has just released ‘Fake My Own Death,’ the lead single from their comback album, 13 Voices. You can check out the new single along with the music video for it below.

The clip was directed by Marc Klasfeld, the man behind Sum 41’s earlier videos for ‘Fat Lip’ ‘In Too Deep” and ‘The Hell Song’.

‘Fake My Own Death’ is a performance music video, where the band members get to live in the world with blurred borders between real and imaginary, life and fiction. It’s a nightmare place where real people fight cardboard celebrities and smarphone app creatures, and media interfere in every aspect of human life. (Search for the figures of Donald Trump, Brad Pitt, Kim Kardashian and more familiar faces in not-so-familiar roles in the clip.)

13 Voices markes Sum 41’s first full-length in five years and it’s due for release October 7 via Hopeless Records. The band’s previous album was 2011’s Screaming Bloody Murder.

Since 2011 it hasn’t been an easy journey for the band and each of its members. Sum 41’s drummer Steve Jocz left the group two years later, and Deryck Whibley had to finally listen to the doctors and learn how to stay away from alcohol when he was told he could die of a collapse of his liver and kidneys. The comeback album title, 13 Voices, represents the support and insights that saved Whibley’s life and showed him the right path.

“I am really excited to be releasing an album after everything I’ve been through recently,” says frontman Deryck Whibley. “This new music represents the journey I’ve been on throughout the process of making this record. I had to fall in order to rise, and nothing feels better than to have something you love that you had to really fight for. I can honestly say that 13 Voices saved my life and I cannot wait to share it with all of you.”

Watch the video for ‘Fake My Own Death’ below. How would you interpret its concept? Has Sum 41’s new music lived up to your expectations? Be the first to leave your comments and stay tuned with Alterock Facebook and Twitter to never miss on the news about your favorite alternative music!

13 Voices Tracklist:

1. A Murder of Crows (You’re All Dead To Me)
2. Goddamn I’m Dead Again
3. Fake My Own Death
4. Breaking The Chain
5. There Will Be Blood
6. 13 Voices
7. War
8. God Save Us All (Death to POP)
9. The Fall And The Rise
10. Twisted By Design