“Dig in our take of a Dark Christmas spirit,” says the former Nightwish vocalist

Tarja Turunen, solo singer and former frontwoman of the most streamed Finnish act of all time, Nightwish, is making the festive season even brighter with her upcoming record Dark Christmas. The release is scheduled for November 10 and serves as a sequel of her 2017 album From Spirits And Ghosts (Score For A Dark Christmas).

The Finnish artist is again skillfully combining orchestra instruments with enchanting children’s choir, highlighting her classical soprano with gothic touches in well-known Christmas tunes. In just over a week, we’ll get to hear Tarja’s cinematic takes of beloved Christmas carols like “Last Christmas”, “All I Want For Christmas Is You”, “Wonderful Christmastime”, “Jingle Bells”, “Frosty The Snowman”, “Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer” and more. The record also features Tarja’s original new song ‘Dark Christmas’, introducing the listener to a more mysterious side of the holiday season.

“It was fascinating to dive into this new world,” Tarja admits. “You will appreciate these Christmas songs with our spooky arrangements truly sound in a way they never did before. It was my pleasure to team up once again with Jim Dooley and Tim Palmer. I hope you will dig in our take of a Dark Christmas spirit.”

And that’s not it. Dark Christmas will also arrive in the form of 12 videos, topped with a full-length music feature film via Dolby Atmos. Check out the album tracklist, artwork and the album’s first single, a dark rendition of ‘Frosty The Snowman’ below:

Tarja Turunen’s Dark Christmas Tracklist:

  1. The First Noel
  2. Frosty the Snowman
  3. Holy Night
  4. Dark Christmas
  5. Jingle Bell Rock
  6. White Christmas
  7. All I Want For Christmas Is You
  8. Wonderful Christmastime
  9. Last Christmas
  10. Jingle Bells
  11. Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer
  12. Angels We Have Heard On High

Don’t forget to join us on AlteRock Facebook and AlteRock Twitter!
for quality news and interviews by professional journalists.