“I finally got to let it out!”, says In This Moment vocalist Maria Brink

In This Moment have just made our day by dropping a new single, ‘The Purge’, from their upcoming album Godmode, scheduled for release October 27 via BMG. In order to record the track and the accompanying music video, the band attracted the “crème de la crème”. Namely, Kane Churko, producer and sound engineer, known for his work with Papa Roach and Five Finger Death Punch, and Jensen Noen, the director, crowned Best Director at the 2018 Mediterranean Film Festival Cannes (Ice Nine Kills, Falling In Reverse, Hollywood Undead).

“We are thrilled to unveil ‘The Purge’ to everyone,” says In This Moment front woman Maria Brink. “I am so grateful for how everything flowed to bring this song to life, both sonically and visually.”

“The underlying message of the song is to not fall too deeply into the rabbit hole, everything is about finding balance. I had a lot of emotions building within me when I approached the song for the first time and after years of holding it all in I finally got to let it out!”

The emotional depth of the song is rooted back in the lockdown years, when the whole world lost its day-to-day balance and security, which we had taken for granted earlier.

“This song came from our time in lockdown. We all had our own personal experiences during the pandemic, and we all saw the social unrest unfolding daily tearing us apart. It was such a crazy time,” opens up guitarist Chris Howorth. “Our band, like everything else, was stopped in its tracks. During the lockdown I was sending Maria musical ideas I was working on, and this one really resonated with her. She even said, ‘This is gonna be our first single.’ Fast forward a couple years and all the pent-up frustration and angst came pouring out in Maria’s lyrics and performance, creating this crazy visceral song.”

In This Moment’s eighth studio album Godmode was recorded at the Hideout Recording Studio in Las Vegas. The band premiered their tracks ‘Sacrifice’ and ‘The Purge’ at the opening show of The Dark Horizon Tour (Jul 8), in Uncasville, Connecticut. The closing album track, ‘I Would Die For You’ debuted on the soundtrack for “John Wick: Chapter 4”.

Godmode Tracklist:

  1. Godmode
  2. The Purge
  3. Army Of Me
  4. Sacrifice
  5. Skyburner
  6. Sanctify Me
  7. Everything Starts And Ends With You
  8. Damaged (feat. Spencer Charnas)
  9. Fate Bringer
  10. I Would Die For You

In This Moment are currently on tour with Motionless In White as the co-headliners. The tour wraps up on August 19 with a performance at MVP Arena in Albany, New York. After a two-month rest, the band will set out on a 20-date co-headline Kiss Of Death tour with Ice Nine Kills, rounding off November 28.

Don’t miss the new music video below and follow us on AlteRock Facebook and AlteRock Twitter for more news on your favorite bands!